Nevada Humane Society: My Life Changing Experience

 

Throughout this blog I will be discussing a personal story that changed my life about five years ago. My customer experience with the Nevada Humane Society, was not only great, but greatly added to my life.

First, I’ll tell you a little bit about the Nevada Humane Society. They are a charitable, non-profit organization established in 1932. They are located in Reno, Nevada. Since their new mission in 2007 over 90,000 animals have found forever homes. In 2014 the Nevada Humane Society expanded to include Carson City, and in 2016 they moved into their new facility. They are not only prominent in Nevada, but have received national recognition for cutting edge animal welfare, and also help in educating other shelters on lifesaving practices.

Their mission and vision statements are as follows, “to care for pets, find them homes and save lives. All pets should have a healthy, happy life.” Their guiding principles, “are to promote humane treatment, relieve suffering, operate their no-kill shelters and educate and engage the community.”

So how does the Nevada Humane Society relate to me? Well here’s a little bit about my story. Five years ago I was heading to get a pedicure with two of my best friends as a reward for finishing our fall semester of school at UNR in 2012. However, my friend Karli was helping to foster a small litter of puppies from the Nevada Humane Society. We headed over to first see the puppies and once I saw little “Vera” it was love at first site.

The following day I told my Mom about this wonderful little puppy, and after some consideration within our family we decided to contact the Nevada Humane Society to express our interest in adopting her. The Nevada Humane Society was excited about our interest and we were put down on the list to adopt her. She was still quite young so it was about another month before we got the call to come in and adopt her.

I vividly remember the day we walked into the Nevada Humane Society and saw her. I knew instantly she remembered who I was, and right when I picked her up she licked my face and I knew we made the right decision. She’s a black, cream and white husky mix and changed my life since that day we took her home.

My brother has always been able to come up with the names for all of our pets, so over the next couple of days we landed on the name Keva. She became the “giant” little sister to my parents two Pomeranian’s, Nala and Koko. It took them a little while to get used to her large clumsy self, but now they all live together as adopted doggy siblings.

This year she will be 5 years old and I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. I have become an obsessive dog mom along with many of my friends who have also adopted dogs as well. The Nevada Humane Society provided me with the best customer experience I could have imagined.

If you’re interested in the services they provide head to their website. Some of the programs and services include; animal rescue and care, pet adoptions, animal resource center, volunteer opportunities, and low-cost spay/neuter services. You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

